The Post-Run Munchies

Does anyone else get the munchies after a long run? Or when upping your weekly mileage? I don’t know about any of you, but since I officially started my marathon training and taking my runs seriously again, I have been munchie. 

I finished a cool 9 miles this morning – with rain scheduled for tomorrow morning and wanting to spend the weekend mornings relaxing with the BF, I got my butt out of bed this morning.

Run

9 miles at an 8:17 pace, although I’m pretty sure that first mile pace is off. Way off, I’m definitely not that speedy (as much as I wish!). I never know whether to trust my phone GPS or not – the mission to find my Garmin watch charger has begun!

No matter what my morning pace, I came back home and had a solid breakfast of eggs, plantains, and berries – it’s really been my go-to this week. However – once breakfast was consumed… the munchies began! It was like opening the flood gates. Am I starving? No. Do I want a big meal? No. I just want to munch.

I can only eat so much fruit before I feel like I’m entering into a sugar coma, and yes I know vegetables, but let’s be honest they’re not the best to just sit and snack on (carrots, you’re too full of sugar!). Actually, I’m probably just too lazy right now to properly prep vegetables, shame on me. Sometimes you want a salty snack – but chips? No way. Nuts? Only in tiny moderation.

To be honest, I’ve gone to the popcorn dark side. To avoid unnecessary ingredients (cough, microwave popcorn, cough) I bought a bag of popcorn kernels. Adding in 1/4 c of coconut oil into a large pot, I turned it to medium-high heat with just 3 kernels in the pot and placed on the lid. Cue the oil splattering all over the lid. Cue me waiting and wondering if that oil splatter was a kernel popping. No, it wasn’t – trust me, you will know when the kernels pop. Wait for the 3 kernels to pop and then remove them from the pan. Add in 2/3 c of kernels, and move the pan off the heat for 30 seconds (I used my microwave timer because I’m the queen of getting distracted). Pop (no pun intended 🙂 that pot back on the burner, cover, and let the popping begin! I am easily amused, and watching the popcorn pop away was kind of fun (glass lid!). After about 2 minutes, the popping started to slow. When it slowed enough that the kernels wouldn’t pop out of the pan, I took off the lid – this way, your popcorn will stay crisp!

Basically, I made 2 gallon-sized Ziploc bags of popcorn, so I’m pretty satisfied with my munchie needs at the moment :). (Side note – melt some honey and butter together and pour over the popcorn, along with some salt. You can thank me later).

So, I basically just told all of you to go make some popcorn. Or to tell me what your favorite snack is. Ready. Set. Go!

Leave a Reply

