Rice Bowls

Is there anything better than a bowl full of good food? No – and there’s something about mish mash bowls that just screams comfort! to me.

Last night the BF was working late, and I was sitting at home, feeling lazy (womp womp) and wondering what to eat for dinner. I had gone to the grocery store earlier in the day to pick up some dinner ingredients – but I didn’t want to make up the oven fried chicken (to be featured later this week!) just for myself. Enter: the rice bowl!

Brown rice in the cupboard? Check! Eggs and veggies in the fridge? Check! Not check? A bowl that would actually fit the food (womp womp womp). Apparently, we only have itty bitty sized bowls – to be honest, I was hungry and needed enough room for my veggie overhaul, so play along with me – pretend the plate pictured below is a bowl :).

RiceBowl

Brown rice topped with a fried egg, sauteed zucchini and summer squash, edamame, tomato, and avocado – easy dinner, highly satisfying. I topped it off with some hot sauce for good measure. I must admit it really hit the spot. I woke up yesterday feeling terribly groggy and just BLEH, I have a feeling it had something to do with finally finishing our move this weekend – it took 3 weekends of moving ourselves around, and I am exhausted and never want to move again. That paired with heavy food + maybe a liiiiittle too much wine, my body wants some healthy foods!

However, this happened this weekend and I’m not sorry at all:

Steak

A little date night steak action 🙂

So, for the rest of the week, it’s time to UP the fruit & veggie intake and lower that vino intake (womp womp).

Tell me!

What’s your favorite bowl combo? 

Favorite date night meal?

Leave a Reply

