Steak & Greens

A good steak is always welcome in my household. Growing up, we had steak at least once a week. I took a bit of a hiatus during and immediately after college – cooking steak for myself was low on the totem pole. Once I settled down into my ways in NYC steak started to make a comeback. Once the BF popped into my life, it’s become a staple (a boy’s gotta eat!).

One thing I’ve come to realize with steak (or red meat in general) is that no matter how delicious or well cooked it is, I feel weighed down by the end of the meal. Who wants to feel like that anytime other than after a Thanksgiving dinner? Not me. Enter in steak and greens.

It’s become a thing for me now, that anytime I cook steak of any sort, greens will play a large component of the meal – just the right balance! Last night’s dinner was a London broil (thank you to the grocery store sale!) over an arugula/romaine salad mix. If I do say so myself, it was spot on satisfying.

IMG_5114

The BF is a bit picky in terms of all things vegetables, so I had to keep my tomatoes and cucumbers on the side and just pop them onto my plate. I don’t know about you guys, but salads with toppings are my jam. A just lettuce salad seems so lonely!
IMG_5108

As the salad dressing, I whipped together a random vinaigrette from what I have on hand (we’re still in the ‘move-in’ stage, and don’t have too many staples as of yet). About 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar, a squeeze of lemon juice, a dollop of Dijon mustard, a dash of maple syrup and some olive oil. Whisk away and then add in some red pepper flakes – the tangy-salty-sweet flavor really hit the spot for me!IMG_5110

The lovely steak – look at that hunk of meat! Seriously, this may have been one of the best deals I’ve gotten on a cut of mean before – over 2 lbs of not fatty London broil for 14$?! Yes, please!

IMG_5111

I just marinated the steak in some soy sauce, salt, and pepper. Throw it on a grill pan for about 5 minutes per side, and voila! Let sit for another 10 minutes, slice against the grain and serve over top of your salad. Dinner is ready!

The perks of this meal are endless – it’s healthy but satisfying, for both myself as well as a 6’3″ man who loves his food. It’s easy – all coming together in 30 minutes or less. And the cleanup is relatively harmless, you may just need to soak the grill pan over night (even easier if you have an outdoor grill!)

I’m definitely keeping this one on the books for future weeknights. Win win win!

Tell me your favorite weeknight dinner! I’m on the hunt for variation 🙂

Leave a Reply

